What do you wish to become in life?

It's hard being human!

Image Credits: apisanet.com

There is this instance that I am recalling today while having thoughts of saying farewell to the year 2014. It was the time when I was in school. During one of lectures by our Principal a question was put forward to all the students of our class by him- “What do you wish to become in life?”

Everyone was coming up with pretty decent answers. Soon we had aspiring doctors, engineers, scientists, astronauts and many other would-be professionals right in that class. I was amazed with many of the answers and few students actually appeared focused and committed to fulfill their dreams. Our dear principal was delighted to listen to all the answers.

Finally it was my turn and the same question was blown at me- “What do you wish to become in life?” I might have sounded like a fool among a batch of learners as I replied to his question, “Sir, I want to become a human!”

 Students laughing in a class

Image Credits: oneworldclassrooms.org

Soon the class was filled with a laughter that presumably missed breaking the window panes. That laughter was not at all bothering to me as I smiled and thought in my mind ‘Well the question was about life and why does people keep confusing life with career? ’ “LIFE IS NOT CAREER”!

As everyone in the class caught up with their breath I could see resting tears of bygone laughter in the corners of their eyes. Even my closest friend in the class who was seated adjacent to me had rosy cheeks with the rush of blood that has came along with the chortle.

Our dear principal, who was still having his ending fits of laughter said, “Look pupils! We have a non-human person among ourselves!” Again there was a laughter but a short one as everyone was already exhausted and could not continue the good exercise any further. Apparently, they all must have thanked me for coming up with that weird answer- “Sir, I want to become a human!” It actually helped them coming out from the solemness they were engrossed in earlier. 

There was a pause, a silence in which I got my ‘self’ thinking again “Why would they just laugh at me and not think about this seriously?Come one we need to learn becoming a human! Or if I try improvise my statement ‘We need to become BETTER HUMANS’! 

Soon the principal called my name and stated, “My dear boy, will you give us an insight of why you said that?” He added further, “I know you since you were a child and everyone here is aware about your knowledge quotient. There must be some reason why you said so? Please let us all know. We are all ears to you!”

I have always been so talkative and even bagged the title of a ‘Chatterbox’ from one of our teachers at school (mostly what I spoke to others was a result of series of silent thoughts and imaginative impressions that I used to gather and work upon within my mind; but it was a secret that I always kept safe with me) 

Anyhow, the way principal gave me the opportunity to express my self as a orator,  I could see some of students in my class holding their heads as if they were trying to say, “Why Sir? He will not stop now till our ears drop!”

It was not the time for me being an introvert of course. If we give a statement then we must have something to support it. That is what most of educated people do! They try to reason everything!

“Wouldn’t life have been easier if Adam and Eve not ate that wicked fruit?”

 Adam and Eve in Garden of Eden

Image Credits: Templestudy

“Will you say something today son?” The principal as if jolted me from the imaginary scene that I was enjoying at Garden of Eden in the backdrop of my mind.

“Sure Sir! If you allow I will try to reason out and justify my answer. As my fellow friends have given wonderful answers I was too happy to see them answering confidently. I wish all of them best wishes from my side.”

“We know you as our principal, the head of our school. If anyone from outside world comes to our school you are the one who is the first and most important person to meet for them”

“We are committed to behave like good students so as to glorify your role and so are the teachers who keep working hard to make us learn.”

“I may look stupid briefing that all as it is a simple thing and everyone here knows about it willingly or unwillingly. Even the stray dogs that has been adopted by the school might have a sense about it (I said that so as to break the seriousness that has now started surfacing the class).”

I stopped for a moment and then spoke out again, “OFTEN THE SIMPLE THINGS ARE THE ONES THAT WE IGNORE. Life is all about simple things so when I point out that we have you as principal, some tens of teachers and hundreds of students in this school, I wish to say that these are simply roles that we play in our society. There are other roles as well such as a doctor, a scientist, a businessman and so much more.

We often wish to get into these roles and many of us fail to get there. There are people who lose their self-confidence when they can’t fit into some role that their parents, teachers and they themselves desired in life. The one that pains us the most is the EXPECTATIONS THAT WE HAVE FROM US.

At no day under the glow and warmth of Sun, these roles make up for our life. Our life means much more than these simple roles. We are born and taught about how to eat, how to study, how to act, how to earn and so on but we are never given the learning and knowledge of “HOW TO LIVE?” Is that part so minimal?  I believe it is not!

Most of the times we forget while chasing our goals that life is beautiful. We also forget that our conduct and character is more important for this life. We never bother to analyze our words, deeds and actions.

 A Quote by Einstein

Image Credits: 4.bp.blogspot.com

This is why people do become something in career but they actually fall short of becoming a human!

Why do we hear so much of negative news coming from everywhere?

Why does a person fear walking on a crowded street? Aren’t we of same species when in crowd? Still we fear? Whom do we fear?

Why people do not trust each other?

Why a son does not look after his parents when they are old? Why does he forget the sacrifice they made to raise him?

Why are little children and women killed around the globe?

Why all of everything negative at rising?

I can think of only one possible answers!

“We as child are expected to follow a path of becoming something but we are never given the knowledge of keeping alive our humanity. As we grow up we become more of man and less of human.

_______*_______

AS WE GROW UP….

WE BECOME MORE OF THE MAN AND LESS OF HUMAN!

MAN    versus    HUMAN

MAN= Materialistic Aartificial   & unNatural

HUMAN= Happy_Understanding_Merciful_Appreciative _Noble

Soon there was a tintinnabulation, the school closing bell was ringing out loud but none present in the class showed any sign of moment. The principal as well as the students were carefully paying attention to me and I just said, “Happy New Year everyone! This is the last class that we had this year. I wish all you become better humans in the next year.”

Soon everyone shouted with excitement- “Happy New Year!”

The principal too wished everyone a great year ahead! He smiled and patted on my back and left the class in a thoughtful mood!

_______*_______

I wish each one of you who read this post a very Happy New Year 2015! I hope it will be the year in which each one of us will rise to a higher level in life.

Let us be more human and less of man!

Let us all have compassion in our hearts!

Let us have a heart to love those who are ours and even those who are strangers!

Let us believe in humanity more than we believe in religions!

Let us help those who are in need!

Let us not fall prey to all that is negative!

Let us embrace positive thoughts into our lives!

*HAPPY NEW YEAR*

 Stay humane while chasing your dreams here

Image Credits: Smsideas.com

_______*_______

 

Leave a Reply

